I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page


[Release, 20 May 2008]

Zhenan Bao is Awarded
the first Polymer International-IUPAC Award for Creativity in Applied Polymer Science or Polymer Technology

The Executive Editors of Polymer International and the IUPAC Polymer Division are proud to announce the first winner of their award for creativity in applied polymer science or polymer technology, celebrating the achievements of young researchers in the polymer industry.

Professor Zhenan Bao (Department of Chemical Engineering, Stanford University, USA), a world leader in the field of organic and polymer electronics, was formerly a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff in the Materials Research Department of Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies at Murray Hill.

She pioneered the materials design concepts for high charge transport properties in polymer semiconductors and air-stable organic semiconductors that can be processed using solution techniques. This work led to the first demonstration of all-printed organic transistors, and her group was the first to demonstrate all-printed plastic circuitry thereby opening a new era in electronics. Under her leadership, her group has developed new dielectric material systems and a new type of water-stable sensors.

Her interdisciplinary approach to technologically important issues applied in industry has now been transferred to her career in academia, with over 100 refereed publications and more than 30 patents to her name.

The Winner was selected by the Members of the Scientific Committee representing Polymer International and the IUPAC Polymer Division:

  • Professor François Schué, Editor-in-Chief of Polymer International and member of IUPAC
  • Professor Richard G. Jones, Chair of IUPAC Subcommittee on Polymer Terminology, Associate Editor of Polymer International
  • Professor Christopher K. Ober, President of IUPAC Polymer Division
  • Professor Mitsuo Sawamoto, IUPAC Titular Member-elect and member of MACRO 2008 International Advisory Committee (Eastern Hemisphere)
  • Professor Pavel Kratochvíl, Member of IUPAC, Polymer International Editorial Board and MACRO 2008 International Advisory Committee (Central Europe)
  • Professor Robert G. Gilbert, Member of IUPAC and MACRO 2008 International Advisory Committee (Australasia and the Southern Hemisphere)

We extend our congratulations to Professor Bao, who wins $5,000 and the opportunity to present her award winning lecture at MACRO 2008.

Professor Bao will present her Award Winning Lecture: 'Polymers for Flexible Electronics', Friday 4th July 2008, from 10.30am at the Taipei Convention Center, Taiwan.

> Zhenan Bao's Homepage

> Back to Polymer International - IUPAC Award page


<announcement published in Chem. Int. July 2008, p. 19>

Page last modified 20 May 2008.
Copyright ©1997-2008 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact web manager.