I  U  P  A  C




News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees




. . CI
. . PAC
. . Macro. Symp.

. . Books
. . Solubility Data



Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page


Pure Appl. Chem. Vol. 74, No. 11, p. iv (2002)

Pure and Applied Chemistry

Vol. 74, Issue 11

Special topic articles featuring the 2002 WINNERS OF THE IUPAC PRIZE FOR YOUNG CHEMISTS*


One of the innovations that came out of the project to define IUPAC ’s goals, and that has been reemphasized in the recent update of those goals, was to establish an IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists.
This prize, which requires the applicants to submit a précis of their Ph.D. thesis together with two supporting recommendations from senior chemists with whom they have worked, is judged by a panel
of chemists drawn from around the world, which is chaired by the incumbent Past President of IUPAC.
The first recipients received their prizes at the IUPAC Congress in Brisbane (July 2001) and were judged to be outstanding young chemists and well worthy of their success; indeed, all the applicants
were very good.
Since that initial competition, the idea has been developed further, and at the Congress to be held in Ottawa in 2003, not only will the prize winners be present (as part of their prize) but they will be
exhibiting posters, and as the present publication demonstrates, they have been invited to contribute short review articles based upon their work to Pure and Applied Chemistry.
This year, we have once again been rewarded with an outstanding set of applications, and I am grateful to my colleagues on the judging panel for their help in arriving at what are inevitably difficult
decisions. The Officers of IUPAC are delighted with both the quantity and quality of the responses to this initiative, and we thank all those who have taken part and wish them well in their careers.

The 2002 winners have all agreed to contribute to this special publication; they are:

  • Jeroen J.L.M. Cornelissen, University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands (currently at IBM Almaden Research Center, San Jose, CA);
  • Jinsang Kim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, MA, USA (currently at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA);
  • Stefan Lorkowski, University of Münster, Germany; and
  • Simi Pushpan, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India.

I would like to thank Prof. James Bull for coordinating the review and publication of these young chemists’ manuscripts and the IUPAC Secretariat staff for their help in processing all the applications.

Alan Hayes
IUPAC Past President and Chairman of the Prize Committee

IUPAC Prize Committee: Alan Hayes (Chairman, UK); Chunli Bai (China); Werner Klein (Germany); S. Chandrasekaran (India); Gerd M. Rosenblatt (USA); and Thomas T. Tidwell (Canada).

*The collection of invited, peer-reviewed articles by the winners of the 2002 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists is published in this issue, pp. 2021-2081.


Page last modified 7 February 2003.
Copyright ©1997- 2003 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact web manager.